Elven Guidepost

Summary: Another Spell Card.

194. Elven Guidepost (R)

Cost: X
Type: Conjuration

Pay the mana cost equal to 1 plus the selected creature’s summoning cost. Target one creature adjacent to the allied creature. Target creature will return to the owner of the hand.

Comment: Original description was a bit unclear about whether we pay the mana equals to 1 plus the target creature that you force it to return to hand OR mana cost of selected allied creature, which defines the range this spell can work. My guess is latter; otherwise, there is no reason to specify allied creature. So this creature would work really well when opponent’s expensive creature is summoned next to my 1 mana costing creature.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Rufus Omega on March 28, 2008 at 4:29 pm

    This could actually be a useful spell from set 2. So far I have seen very few spells in set 2 that I would even consider putting in a deck.

    It seems to me that a lot of the cards in set 2 are overly complicated. What originally got me hooked on the game was that the rules and creature abilities were relatively simple, yet still allowed for a wide range of tactics and strategies. The new cards are interesting, but very specific in their use. For me, a large part of the game has been about finding new ways to combine and use the cards. That’s what makes creatures like Elven Beserker Maidens so useful.

    Reply

  2. Posted by houshasen on March 28, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    @Rufus Omega

    I agree. As I have never played any other TCG, the biggest sales point of this game was its “just about right” complexity.

    I got this game the day of release and had been playing since. But I think it’s about a time to change to a little bit deeper in strategy scheme. So to me Set.2 seems another just about right level of complexity. In the Set.3, I hope to see Magic’s instant like spells so that you can start interacting with opponent even while during opponent’s turn, but with these all new concepts in Set.2, I feel it was all for the best to not include any more complex stuff into the game yet.

    Anyways, my point is yes Set.2 seems much more complicated than Set.1, but I think it is to the level that I feel I can still follow the game and with some practice I feel like I can play well. And certainly will add much more depth to the strategy making. So I think Set.2 is another “just about right” complexity. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

