Sample Deck ~ Missionary Deck ~

Summary: Understanding Missionary deck is a very controversial topic with many people believing it as balance breaking deck, I have still decided to translate a sample Missionary deck from Dengeki Playstation.

I hope this sample deck would benefit not only for those of you who wants to play Missionary Decks, but also give some starting point to those people considering to modify their decks to incorporate Anti-Missionary strategies. I believe it is more fair to post this sample deck than not because many people living in Japan already has access to this sample deck.

Sample Missionary Deck (from Dengeki Playstation March 2008 Edition)

No. Name #
1 Flame Magus 2
111 Flame Novice 2
121 Noram Zealot 3
129 Frost Guards 2
137 Aluhja Zealot 3
143 Verzar Swordman 1
146 Dwarf Sniper 2
154 Visvar Vaas Zealot 3
59 Elven Berserker Maiden 1
69 Inquisitor Koog 1
159 Tree Foxes 2
169 Tolicore Zealot 3
91 Parmetic Holy Feast 1
92 Goghlie Altar 1
98 Fissure of Goghlie 1
100 Summoner Mesmer’s Errand 1
193 Caisen Riot 1
30
7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Real Gambler on April 9, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Yikes, I don’t have set 2 cards (so many long weeks waiting for them…) but for me this is pretty much the worst zealot deck I ever saw!!!

    Goghlie Altar???? For what? You summon the first zealot, next one will likely cost you only two mana!

    Caisen Riot??? Sure if you have this card AND the Altar, you’re ok, but otherwise, it’s pretty much useless alone. Let see. You get two mana. You have one creature on board, and your opponent has 3. Boom, is loosing tons of mana, but you’re loosing one precious mana that could have been used to summon another zealot. A lapse would be way better, particularly since you may have many “useless” duplicate zealots in your hand.

    I just went 35 turns with set 1 cards against one deck exactly like this one. (I saw all the cards, except the guard, the berserker and Caisen Riot and obviously not all the zealots… At least I know where it was coming from!).

    I guess it just prove that you take 12 zealots, and then strap pretty much any low mana cards around, and bang, you’re a huge player.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Spazzfish on April 10, 2008 at 7:43 am

    The better decks have cubics and 2/3 errands in them. The rest of the deck besides the obvious 12 zealots is made up of what you want, not that you will need anything else.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Real Gambler on April 10, 2008 at 8:01 am

    Agreed 100%

    Reply

  4. Posted by Rufus Omega on April 10, 2008 at 8:09 am

    The most streamlined zealot deck would have to be:

    3 of each zealot (12 cards)
    2 of each cubic (8 cards)
    3 Summoner Mesmer’s Errands
    3 Flame Magus
    4 other church of parmus cards of the player’s choice

    That is the most powerful and annoying deck I have come across yet.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Spazzfish on April 15, 2008 at 7:56 am

    Add a biolith temple in there and thats it bam as quick as you kill them they just come back again.

    Reply

  6. Posted by EYS on April 21, 2008 at 12:55 pm

    Ok… I haven’t played EOJ in about 2-3 weeks… mostly because the playing field isn’t quite level without the Set 2 cards and I’m in the US.

    So when I run into Set 2 players – especially missionary deck players its very difficult to win without some Set 2 help.

    Anyway… has anyone watched the videos of the top 100 matches? I just did… because I am going to start playing again now that the set two license should be showing up this week… but my goodness…

    I’d say out of 100 vids, 70 to 80 percent of them were Missionary Decks.
    Almost ALL of the top 30 were.

    I plan on NOT playing a missionary deck if i can help it… but at the same time, I really don’t want to just make an “anti-missionary” deck… because that’s not really something I “want” to do…

    Also, I am having a hard time understanding if OTHER types of decks… that use combinations… like Goblin Decks, Dwarf decks… Race decks, Affiliation Decks… all that stuff they added with Set 2 – can they BE “anti-missionary” decks on their own? without “trying to make an anti-missionary deck”

    Not sure if I am explaining myself properly or not, but I want to try and win with clever themed decks… and so far I can’t tell if those decks are really any “good” because none of the high ranking matches that you can watch seem to use these types of decks.

    I dunno, I’m just like that I guess – I’m glutton for punishment, but I also don’t like to do what “everybody else” is doing.

    Reply

  7. Posted by EYS on April 21, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Spazzfish is correct i also see Biolith Temple in a LOT of these missionary decks

    Reply

Leave a Reply

