Venoan Law of Commerce ~ Time for Judgment ~

Summary: So how many readers of this blog actually know there is a mode called “Judgment” in EOJ?  Well, I did, but never played it before, but whether you like or not you will be forced to play “Judgment” when Set.3 is released. 

Type – Ritual

Cost – 0

– Judgment against opponent player.  If you win the judgment, you gain mana equal to the number of enemy creatures on board.  If you lose the judgment, your opponent gains one mana.

*Judgment = Each player shows the top most card from the library, whichever has the higher summoning cost wins.  

Summary: Despite my limited experience (at most played 4 games) of Magic the Gathering, I continue to refer to the game as a reference since my understanding is that it’s the gold standard of TCG.  I actually recall seeing this exact same mechanism in the MtG, which I personally wasn’t too thrilled about.  So my reaction to this is the same, but at least Sony here tries to make use of what they have already programmed as somewhat more useful.

Advertisements

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Real Gambler on September 28, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Does both cards go to the graveyard or back on top. (That would be another way to peek at top card).?

    I guess that’s a good card to have in those biolith heavy decks. Odds running in your favor…

    Reply

  2. Posted by drizzle on September 28, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    Wonder what happens if the top card is elven dismissal since that card has X as the summoning cost. Guess I am always looking for corner cases 🙂

    Reply

  3. I think that Judgment mode only includes creatures

    Reply

  4. Posted by houshasen on September 28, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    @Real Gambler

    I’m not hundred percent sure about that. In fact, that was my first question, but the card does not say anything about it.

    @Dizzlen & lgass

    Great Question. I don’t know either. But my guess is regular spell still has summoning cost (well they might not be officially called summoning cost) so I think they are not the problem, but Elven Dismissal is definitely question. My guess is the only way to tell is actually have PS3 decide. I think this is one of the greatest point of EOJ. We don’t have to question ourselves for corner cases and make up answer ourselves as in some other TCGs.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Motions on September 28, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    another good card for those darn attrition decks… 😦

    Reply

  6. Well another card to penalize speed, i’m loving the translations and the work u put in. but yeah what happens if theres a spell next does it count or do you go on the next creature.

    Reply

  7. oh just read it again, spells count. but yeah i believe in the case of cards with X cost +1 like elven dismissal. it would take the base cost such as 1 im guessing. where X would be assumed 0.

    Reply

  8. but if you play judgment, only creatures count…. but you guys maybe right

    Reply

  9. Posted by Real Gambler on September 28, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    To me, the answer is obvious…. There’s a judgment feature already in the main menu of EoJ. It’s called JUDGMENT and sure enough, no spells can be played, only creatures.

    So, if a “judgment” is being called for, it’s quite likely to be with the exact same rules that have been there since the beginning of the game.

    Only thing to find out is: If you flip a spell, is it simply worth zero and the judgment is over, or do you get a chance to flip the next card.

    Now, let say you can flip the next card and it’s a spell again. And again. I would not expect the devs to allow you to see the next 3 or 4 cards, unless those cards are discarded and not put back in the pile. In any case, simplest thing is to allow only one card flip, so my money is on the fact that spell will be worth zero for sure.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Real Gambler on September 28, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Now, another interesting question would be:

    What happen in case of a tie???

    Still a month before we can experiment with them. Shoot.

    Reply

  11. Posted by IsuckUsuckMore/Furo25 on September 29, 2008 at 5:01 am

    Is it possible to have a draw in Judgment Mode? I wil have to test later on. Also it might be possible that after the judgment, you shuffle ur library.

    This might make it possible to draw the top card till its a creature. Otherwise I’m 100% with RealGambler.

    Reply

  12. Posted by houshasen on September 29, 2008 at 5:58 am

    It’s indeed called “Judgment” in the original card. So lgass and Real Gambler are probably right. Now as for Tie, NOTHING happens. That’s actually specifically written on the original card.

    Reply

  13. Posted by dozens on September 29, 2008 at 10:11 am

    What happens with a tie ?

    Reply

  14. Posted by dozens on September 29, 2008 at 10:13 am

    BTW – Play this card with a Earth Wing Dragon out on non-biolith and there is no downside 🙂 Then altar and do 2 damage up to 4 creatures for 0 mana.

    Reply

  15. Posted by drizzle on September 29, 2008 at 11:00 am

    Another corner case… what happens when there are no cards left in library (playing this on the last turn before someone decks out). Does playing this end the game, or does the this cause nothing to happen or does the player who cannot draw a card recieve a zero for card cost?

    Reply

  16. Posted by Paydak on October 2, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    There are many cards like this in Magic where you have a random qualifier that leads into either something very powerful or very worthless. The vast majority of these cards are very bad. This mechanic was later refined as “clash” which was a much smarter implementation. Those cards had a useful base effect that was potentially supplemented with a random qualifier. These cards were often useful and interesting especially considering the amount of library manipulation in Magic. I have a feeling this card is far too situational to be of any use unless there’s a good way to stack your deck without sabotaging the usefullness of your deck.

    Reply

  17. Posted by Fongy on October 14, 2008 at 6:30 am

    I’m thinking that this is the perfect anti-winny card…
    If your deck is stacked with 1 / 2 cost creatures and you’re playing a combo / bio deck – then the odds are very much in your favour…
    I like the prospect of gaining 6 / 7 mana mid game…
    It’s worth the risk I think…
    I think you need to be lucky, but hey, every time you play a lycanthrope or 50/50 dodge you need to be lucky…
    So do you feel lucky?
    (I love the idea of playing a minigame midway through – gives even more a sense of excitement!) Definitely will be in every ‘hard hitter’ deck… and one I’ll want to try from the word go… especialy if you have low spells or have played all your level 1 / 2 cards…
    Well do you, punk?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: