Set.3 Release Delayed… Again?

Summary: Just like Set.2 release, there is a rumor that Set.3 release has been pushed.  Thanks to Matthew for passing this info.  Following is the copy & paste from Matthew’s comment on one of Set.3 card section.

Someone over on GameFAQS has had an email from their pre-order company saying that the US release is pushed back to 10 November?!

Here’s the email they’ve had:

I just found out there is a delay at Upper Deck in regards to the EOJ Set 3 release. I called to get a concrete date and unfortunately was informed that Upper Deck has pushed the release date to November 10th. This is directly from Upper Deck and I didn’t hear it anywhere else, so you can take it as directly from the source. I hate factory delays as much you do and wanted to notify you about the change in status. We will get these out in the mail as soon as we get our hands on the product. I will also notify you of any other changes or updates in regards to the EOJ Set 3 release.

I’m trying to find out if this affects the UK too – I’ll know more tomorrow…

 

This information is confirmed by at least one US online card seller, Home Field Sports & Games.  http://www.homefieldcards.com/

Comment: I thought the main reason for changing to Upperdeck as a distributor is to avoid this issue.. Well at least that’s what Sony said.  Hmmm… I hate to say this, but if they are going to push date in US, I feel like they should do so Worldwide to be fair.  At least Japanese official site still has release date as 10/16.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Real Gambler on October 7, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    I believe that somebody said the same thing about 13th floor UK… Truly, it has to be a global release, otherwise, I’m cancelling my pre-order, and quite likely drop the ball on EoJ

    Reply

  2. Posted by Matthew on October 8, 2008 at 1:44 am

    The 13th Floor have always had the UK release date as the 24th, right from the moment that pre-orders went live.

    I’ve emailed them and asked them to speak to Upper Deck.

    I agree that a worldwide release is more fair – but remember what happened with Set 2? Japan got it first – the UK about 4 days later and the US a further couple of weeks after that…

    I wonder if it’s due to the far greater size of the US, meaning a lot more cards need to be produced and distributed…

    Once 13th Floor have responded to me I’ll post their comments here…

    It’s strange really because only yesterday, I received an email from CCJArmory advising that the US release was the 24th Oct – which left me thinking that the US and UK were being synchronised…

    Anyway… we’ll see what 13th Floor say…

    Reply

  3. Posted by sjabth on October 8, 2008 at 2:14 am

    “I wonder if it’s due to the far greater size of the US, meaning a lot more cards need to be produced and distributed…”
    LOL

    I guess they still distribute them by horse and wagon… It will probably take them a couple of weeks extra to reach the other coast… 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Matthew on October 8, 2008 at 2:34 am

    LOL 🙂

    I didn’t mean it that way 😉 I’m sure they won’t be delivered by carrier pigeon or horseback 🙂

    Sony did state ‘production issues’ as the Set 2 reason delay though.

    If it *is* 10 November for everyone, I hope I find out today. As with any disappointing news, the sooner you know about it, the sooner you can just deal with it.

    Fingers crossed that there’s been a communication error though and it’ll be coming on the 24th still 🙂

    Reply

  5. I have emailed the sales director for the UK for any customers ordered with http://www.MechaCubic.com

    I should have an answer tomorrow.

    Rich

    Reply

  6. Posted by Matthew on October 8, 2008 at 1:37 pm

    Ok here’s the news from 13th Floor:

    [i]Hmm….we’re not aware of any delay at the moment. We did hear some rumours about potential availability issues for the US so that might explain the news below.

    We’re sticking with the 24th but until we hear our suppliers say they’ve shipped it on the 22nd we can’t be 100% certain… However, if we hear anything before then I’ll certainly pass it on.

    All the best.[/i]

    Reply

  7. Just heard back from the Sales Manager for Upperdeck – no delay he is aware of.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Fongy on October 10, 2008 at 5:27 am

    If there was a delay, I bet those pesky zealots would have had something to do with it… 😮

    Reply

  9. Posted by Matthew on October 11, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Well some good news from the UK at least…

    The 13th Floor have just emailed to say that they’re possibly bringing their release date forward – from the 24th of October to the 16th October (the original Japanese date).

    They’re going to keep me posted 🙂

    Hope it’s true!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

