Kastor

Summary: The second combining creature.

Comment: One thing that I have noticed here is that both Kastor & Pollux are the Ancient race.  Previously, there was a limit of one Ancient per deck.  Clearly if that’s still the case there will be no way you can make Dioskuri.  So either these creatures will be exempted from the rule OR master rule will change to allow more than one Ancient in deck with Set.3. 

4 to summon either Kastor/Pollux, 3 to pull the other, 3 to combine, and 3 to activate for the attack.  Total of 13 mana to make and use Dioskuri.  Dioskuri can definitely be used as a great reset board creature, but 13 seems just too much.  However, if you can summon Pollux or Kastor over White Cubic (1 mana), then has the other already in your hand (0 mana for pull), it will only cost 7 mana to wipe the board.  Reactivation from thereon is only 3 mana, which is much better than Phaseus.

Overall, I believe Dioskuri will be useful addition to Reset/Attrition/Biolith deck.  What do you all think?

Advertisements

8 responses to this post.

  1. Well Pollux and castor are useless without dioskuri and in that case they take a total mana toll of 10 or at best 7 if both are in your hand … in that case this combo could only be pulled off by lith or attrition decks perhaps high mana costing decks as well but in any case the point of concern is that when dioskuri comes on board does it attack or not because if it did attack then in my opinion it could be somewhat useful other wise its pretty much useless …

    Reply

  2. Hmm both cards say “this will create Dioskuri, a creature with the two cards combined HP…” that would mean Dioskuri has 8 HP, but the Dioskuri card itself says it has only 5 HP. i am confused now.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Paydak on October 10, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    If there’s a better way to search these out of your library without the expensive activation cost, this could potentially be useful. If not, you just have two average mana inefficient that just dumb down your deck.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Matthew on October 10, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    “So either these creatures will be exempted from the rule OR master rule will change to allow more than one Ancient in deck with Set.3.”

    This seems quite simple on the face of it… the Ancients from Set 1 and Set 2 are restricted to one per race (i.e. on or the other).

    The two ancients in Set 3 are limited to one of each card. So you can have both in your hand by still following the master rules. If you wanted, say, a Biolith Guardian Watchtower in your deck though, you’d have to do without Kastor or Pollux.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Fongy on October 13, 2008 at 5:10 am

    Beguiling fog anyone? Surely that negates your action points? Quick question though, if you can use these to create Dioskuri, why is Dioskuri card promo only? And what happens if you haven’t got the card?
    :O/
    Either way, a great idea and I’m sure there’ll be plenty of people gunning for these!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Iceberg on October 13, 2008 at 10:24 am

    The way i see it is the most cost effective way you can create dioskuri is as follows. ascension kastor or pollux and say you have the othe in your hand b fog kastor and place pollux on top to create dioskuri which would cost 4 because they don’t have incarnation.

    Presuming this would work 4 would be the cheapest as for the most expensive i think 11 (4 summon kastor 3 for activation and 4 to summon pollux on top or would the activation count as the switch between the 2.

    I guess only way we will know for sure is testing it.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Iceberg on October 13, 2008 at 10:26 am

    But unless they change the ancient rule how would you be able to put both kastor and pollux in a deck when they are both ancient and limited to 1 per deck.
    The kastor could have more than 8 hp if you use a shower on one making it 7 hp plus 4 = 11 hp only phaseus has more.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Fongy on October 13, 2008 at 11:06 am

    Iceberg, I’ve just written your way on the pollux card screen! Great minds…
    But I would like to know about the Dioskuri card itself, this I take it isn’t needed, so a) why the promo and b) why the differing stats? I think it’s if you have the promo card you get an extra health point?
    Maybe?
    Either way, I’m getting myself all three.
    Even if I have to remortgage my house.
    And sell the kids (if I had any).
    And rob a bank (don’t try that at home).
    Or sell myself (I’d end up out of pocket…)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: