Blackhood Caravan ~ House of Blackhoods ~

Summary: Combo Combo Combo

Comment: It appears that the theme of Earth creatures in Set.3 are fieldquakes, mana boost, Protection and Anti-Dodge.  If Anti-dodge is becoming so much prevalent theme among set.3 creatures, I really want to see some pro-dodge cards to support Water creatures.  Anyways, this card is alright.  Expensive mana cost but mana boosting Earth creatures can easily support this.  This card can be combo with any other allied dwarves so use this with Blackhood Anti-Mystic can give “give and take” combo.   Perhaps Protection ability can be used with Roving Penitentiary for mana generation.  

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fongy on October 14, 2008 at 3:22 am

    Combo-tastic, really interesting as a huge support to a dwarf deck (my tip for the largest increase in use – dwarves everywhere)
    I like this a lot, a good one to get on using a cubic and 2 / 3 attack is not bad if you can get it out early…
    I will have it in my dwarf deck! (hey, if you can’t beat them, join them!)
    There does appear to be a lot new dodgers (jammy) and quakers (movers and shakers) so this balances it out…
    What I’m waiting for is having all 310 cards in front of me and just looking at what the possibilities are…
    Sure some cards aren’t as good as others, but in the right deck they can be lethal – this is what you have to realise… a plant trap or don’s double, when played correctly can be lethal – don’t just look at a card in isolation – broaden your minds!
    That is keeping it real, not slagging off every card just to make yourself sound good.
    The whole point of games like this is to combine, see what happens when you put a with b…
    We should be supporting this and not tearing it down!
    I can’t wait to use the biolith death garden, just to have the experience of plant attacks! It may only work for one game and one deck, but it’s the fun you have in constructing them and trying them out!
    It’s so easy being negative – before commenting on any more cards, think about its place in a deck, how it will work with other cards and what it can counter, etc.
    Well, that’s me sermon over… I really think the EOJ community needs to pull together with these cards, if they are well received, who knows, we may get another set… We certainly won’t if all we do is call them garbage every time they’re released…

    Let’s wait for the negative slant…. courtesy of Paydak…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Matthew on October 14, 2008 at 3:37 am

    Well said Fongy, I agree with you completely.

    Reply

  3. I’m a little confused about the attack pattern, does this attack in all 4 directions on short AND long distance??

    Reply

  4. Posted by Fongy on October 14, 2008 at 5:33 am

    @ Matthew

    Thanks! I’m so excited about this new release, and we need to let Sony know that we want more!!!

    @ Schobbo

    The way I look at it, it’s like biolith bomber… Makes it pretty good eh? I love cards with counter on all sides and no blind spots…

    Reply

  5. Posted by Fongy on October 14, 2008 at 6:22 am

    Ooooh, and one last point whilst I’m thinking about it…
    With the introduction of more ritual cards, I think mana generation is going to increase, as set 2’s mana generating cards weren’t that effective (sacrament excluded, but even then you lost a creature for that)..
    With up to 3 BIG mana generators in your hand, you will be able to afford BIGGER creatures…
    I am hoping that this also spells (get it, I crack myself up here) disaster for winny decks as they rely on speed and low mana, if you can get don’s double out really quickly or other mulitple hitters, winny decks are no more (forget wood field bonuses for a start, forgotten tower’s coming) in fact this and forgotten tower… cracking combo gromit!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Matthew on October 14, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Getting a tad giddy there by any chance?? 😉

    Actually, it’s nice to have some infectious positivity coming through instead of constant moaning and bitching about the cards.

    On some other forums there’s more problems brewing with people complaining if they’re going to be charged to update to Set 3.

    Having people focusing on all the good news makes a nice change and I’m with you on it 100%. I also like playing new decks and just seeing how they get on. I normally get my arse handed to me on a plate but who cares, it makes it more interesting for me 🙂

    Reply

  7. Posted by Fongy on October 14, 2008 at 7:52 am

    @ matthew

    You betcha, thanks for that!
    Yeah, I am getting giddy, we should do, if this is the last set it’s worth shouting about!
    Oh and yes, the last time I did an ‘experimental’ deck using all cubics and dragons….
    It didn’t work…
    😉

    Reply

  8. Posted by Matthew on October 14, 2008 at 9:09 am

    @ Fongy
    Funny you should say that, I tried a cubic and dragon deck for a while which proved moderately successful but quite boring to play. And with the wrong mix of cubic to dragon – jeez…

    I was really excited about Set 2, only to be let down with it – but that’s not stopping me getting even more excited this time around. I’ve got three boxes of boosters arriving on Saturday and I just hope I get enough ultra rares that I don’t have to spend a fortune on singles again…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

