Lizard Shocktrooper ~ Power of Reactivation ~

Summary: Is reactivation still a waste of mana?

 

Comment: By now most of you have already noticed that in the Set.3, Sony appears to make activation and turning more valuable than ever.  Previously, activating creatures were in general thought of as the waste of mana because the goal of game is to occupy fields and activation/turning would not contribute to this goal.  Furthuremore, you get free attack with summoning; therefore, activation/turning was simply a waste of mana.  Though I am not saying this creature illustrates the best example of reactivation value, this certainly reminds us the trend.  Once reactivation becomes more common/popular, it will change the entire game mechanics.  Not to pick on anyone; however, I have noticed in some of comments, certain cards being inefficient, which I do agree in many cases if we are lookng at summoning new creatures every turn strategy; however, if this becomes no longer the case, I feel many cards will change its value quite a bid.  What do you all think?

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Matthew on October 14, 2008 at 7:26 am

    I agree with you. It seems like Set 3 is very much about card orientation, card turning, and activation. Three things that were barely considered before now.

    I think Set 2 damaged the whole game quite a bit – and it’s really sad. Set 1 was fantastic and full of depth. But I do believe that Set 3 will go about addressing a lot of the issues and bringing balance and diversity back.

    I also think that the trend of immediately slagging off a card as being ‘worthless’ achieves precisely nothing and should be discouraged as it drags then entire forum down.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Fongy on October 14, 2008 at 8:02 am

    @ Matthew

    I’m with you on that…
    Set 2 was a bit damaging (not entirely) but it certainly lost its spark… Set 3 really goes a long way to redress this! And if this is the end, then there’s no more ‘well, we’ll see what the next set brings…’ when making your decks – you can truly create a killer deck!

    I would say, the only thing I’ve seen missing from set 3 and it looks like we’re not getting any is ‘return cards to your deck’ cards… which allows more spells in many ways or even ‘return spell to your deck’ which would have been fantastic…
    I know there’s an argument for more than 30 cards in a deck, but with all these good cards… it seems a shame to leave so many out!!!
    But I guess with the board being 9 fields, it’s hard to drag it out much more and some games can take close to an hour to play (who isn’t going to have animations on at first – I wanna see the new guys fight!)
    Maybe EOJ v2 – 12 fields and 50 in a deck?!?! and diagonal attacks?!?! and the ability to ‘flip’ cards and play them in different stances, like yu-gi-oh (still the best designed card game ever in my opinion – I wish I’d have been 20 years younger and got into it when I was 10, I don’t think I’d get away with it now!)

    As for this card, it’s a killer with flame lizard commander… or next to a centurion… nice to have a solid, hard-hitting lizard with reasonable health, this with the new dominion cards is going to make it a real toughie to kill!

    Reply

  3. If you are interested in my blog i posted the images of 3 set 3 phantoms. 😉

    Reply

  4. Posted by Matthew on October 14, 2008 at 9:01 am

    @ LaTen
    Oooo those look great!! That only leaves 4 cards left to be disclosed. Any idea what race the phantoms are going to be, as Earth are already getting a hero card and fire and wood are already getting betrayers. I’m wondering if they’re going to be phantom nobles…

    @ Fongy
    I like your attitude 🙂 Nice to have someone so upbeat. Might get to play you online some time. You’re never too old for YuGiOh, I love that game – though I only play the electronic versions. I have cards up in the loft but have never had a person to play them against. Should eBay them really.

    Reply

  5. @Matthew
    I don’t know, but seem related with the dragons

    Reply

  6. Posted by Matthew on October 14, 2008 at 9:11 am

    @ Laten
    I’ve been expecting Clare Wil to make an appearance and she rides a blue water dragon – so I think the water card could well be her (back to get the throne back from the imposter queen)…

    Reply

  7. Posted by Anonymous on October 14, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    @ Laten

    My PSN name is ‘Fongy’ (nice and easy) so by all means add me anytime!

    @ Matthew

    I’ve wanted to see Clare Will too – fingers crossed!!!

    2 WEEKS TO GO!!!! (if that!!!)

    🙂

    Reply

  8. Posted by Matthew on October 14, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Only a few days for me! Where abouts are you? The US?

    My boxes are due to leave on Friday and all being well I’ll get them on Saturday 🙂 Wish me luck for those phantoms! 🙂

    Reply

  9. Posted by Fongy on October 15, 2008 at 8:42 am

    @ Matthew…

    I’m 13th Floor UK too, I reckon midweek next week at the earliest, they’ve put 21st in…. which is next Tuesday…
    And good luck with Clare Will!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

