No disappointing box?

Summary: Remember the Set.2 booster box with only 2 URs?  Yes. Jirva was one of the best Set.2 card, but still spending close to $100 and get only 2 URs was nothing but a disappointment.  In fact, I bet some people stop buying boxes because of this.  So does Set.3 have these disappointing boxes?

Japan was the same.  Japanese booster box consists of 12 booster packs rather than 36 packs i.e. 3 Japanese booster box = 1 US booster box.  In Set.2 there were Japanese Booster boxes that did not have ANY UR.  

There has been active post on Japanese forum regarding to what URs people has pulled.  So far it sounds like people are getting on average 2 URs/box.  With occasional 1 UR/box or 3 UR/box.  No report of 0 UR box yet.  Assuming this applies to other regions as well, US or UK booster box likely contain 5-7 URs per box just like with the Set.1. 

Well done Upper deck!

17 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Skah T on October 16, 2008 at 12:40 am

    If true that is good news indeed!

    Reply

  2. Posted by yom77 on October 16, 2008 at 1:19 am

    I’m from France :

    I have received my 36 boosters box and i can say that i have :

    – 2 Phantoms and 5 URs in that box.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Matthew on October 16, 2008 at 1:45 am

    @ yom77
    Well done!! Or should I say félicitations!
    Getting really excited about receiving my boxes now, hope I’m half as lucky as you 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Matthew on October 16, 2008 at 2:02 am

    Supposedly the biolith phantom is called triumphant return scion, the wood is called Second Pope Saiasu and the earth is called King of the ground sanavan.

    Oh and from the 13th Floor’s website:

    EoJ set III is now officially in the UK according to our distributors (who have held the booster boxes!) so it should be with us on Friday as predicted. Thanks to everyone who has pre-ordered, rest assured you will get your boosters asap!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Fongy on October 16, 2008 at 2:31 am

    I do hope we get about 4-5 per box, considering I’ve totted up about 25 URs in this set, and ordered 3 boxes, it’s some way to making up the difference…
    2 phantoms and 5 URs? Sacre bleu!
    (I think that’s potentially a fib, that’s 1 UR per 5 boosters.. not that UR then!)

    Reply

  6. Posted by WARBEAR on October 16, 2008 at 2:38 am

    I thought it had been confirmed as 1-70 for UR in this set as in 2nd set. FONGY should pull 17 UR average. The last two set 1 (1-60 UR) boxes i bought had 7 UR total and no phantoms. Last set 2 box had 5 UR one of which was a phantom.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Matthew on October 16, 2008 at 2:51 am

    @Fongy
    I’m getting three boxes too. What’s the betting that come Saturday morning, I’ll be the unlucky one and have next to none and then you’ll wind up with double 😛

    Reply

  8. Posted by ErVaDy on October 16, 2008 at 4:00 am

    I didn’t have any box of set2 with only 2UR’s. I got all phantoms and URs (minus 2) from 2 boxes and no doubles of any UR or phantom. Guess I’ll have to buy more than 2 this time though, can’t be that lucky this time too.

    Reply

  9. Posted by Matthew on October 16, 2008 at 4:31 am

    @ErVaDy
    Hey you never know… never say never! 🙂

    I’m still amazed how this has all suddenly happened in the space of what, a month?! I had no idea it was even on the cards and now it’s suddenly here… amazed.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Fongy on October 16, 2008 at 4:35 am

    My Set 2 crop wasn’t too bad, I remember out of 2 boxes getting 1 warlord, all the Junos, a couple of ascensions and a gateway or two.. and battlemaster, etc.
    I’m having my boxes delivered to work so it’ll Monday for me… I can’t see them shipping / delivering next day…
    😮
    Can they?!?!

    Reply

  11. Posted by Fongy on October 16, 2008 at 4:37 am

    @ Matthew

    You’ll be fine we’ll all be playing it next week trying endless combos, mostly falling flat on our faces, but having a hell of a time doing it!

    Reply

  12. Posted by Matthew on October 16, 2008 at 5:22 am

    @ Fongy re del dates…
    It depends where you’ve ordered from and where you are. 13th Floor are shipping to me tomorrow and luckily I’m in area where Special Delivery will come on a Saturday, although it’s not 100% guaranteed until the next working day, which’d be Monday.

    Reply

  13. Posted by Real Gambler on October 16, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Got 4 set 2 boxes, 1 of them had only two UR, and another one had only 3 URs. Both were Lusirion’s boxes.

    Reply

  14. Posted by Fongy on October 16, 2008 at 9:49 am

    @ matthew

    You’re a lucky punk, I’ll have you a game next week..
    I have the same PSN name – add me!
    I’ve (hopefully) got a moggy with your name on it!

    🙂

    Reply

  15. Posted by Matthew on October 16, 2008 at 11:06 am

    @ Fongy
    You’re on! Been told now that my cards on the way via UPS but they’re sending them to my work address and I’ve just booked tomorrow off!
    Not quite a disater though, I can pop in to work to collect them once a friend tells me they’ve arrived.
    Can’t wait!!

    Reply

  16. Posted by Matthew on October 16, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    Well I’ve downloaded the update, bought the Set 3 licence – yet I can’t see any Set 3 decks to play against in single player?

    Reply

  17. Posted by Matthew on October 16, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    Ah never mind, sussed it out now 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

