Set.3 is out. So what’s missing?

Summary:  Overall reaction to the game is nothing but excellent.  People seem to confirm the game balance has greatly been restored.  So what is missing in the game?

So far Sony seemed to have done really great job making the game balance back.  Some cards that did not appear much use is now becoming more useful by combining Set.3 cards.  Some overpowered cards seems to be balanced down due to other creatures and combo introduced by Set.3.  So overall the game seemed to became what we all wanted to be.  

According to Japanese forum, people feels followings are missing in EOJ especially after this game became such a great game with Set.3 addition.

1. Youtube Upload

We all know that Sony supports ability to upload in-game video/clips on to Youtube.  Given the EOJ being tactical game, and have a ability to record & replay matches, it is natural to have this option added.  This will allow hardcore EOJ gamers to watch and analyze different game plays.  Just like professional Chess players look at other players game.

2. Story 

With the purchase of Set.3 patch, you will be able to read all the booklet included in Set.1 and Set.2 theme decks.  People who reads these booklets loves the EOJ the story.  The issue is the story is not complete. Where is Set.3 stories?  One suggestion mentioned on the Japanese forum was to make a bundle with perhaps one promo card along with Story Mode for each of five element. $15-$30 was mentioned as range.  I perfectly agree with this and indeed would not mind paying $15.

Alternative was to simply release Novel just like MtG.  Again bundling this with some promo card will garantee some sales.  

3. Bring back Set.1 cards & theme decks.

It is now almost impossible to purchase Set.1 theme deck brand new especially in retail price in Japan.  Since there seem to be a few people interested in starting EOJ now, I think this is perfectly reasonable request.  As complete EOJ bundle is scheduled to be released sometime this year (though I believe this will be delayed), I believe Sony may ask Upper deck to reprint Set.1 & Set.2 cards along with this bundle.

 

If these are only complaints that people in Japan has regarding to EOJ with Set.3, I must praise Sony again for doing great job making Set.3 because none of above is talking about actual game play itself.   But I really like to see Story mode.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Fongy on October 24, 2008 at 3:12 am

    One thing I REALLY wish they’d implement…
    You know the customised animations setting you can do against the computer – why can’t you do these online?!?!
    That way online games move faster and you still get to see UR / R animations…
    Surely not too difficult to implement!

    I think the game is now much more balanced, still a few winny decks, but they can be combatted now with castigation, etc.

    I wish in Set 3 there were more ‘return cards from your graveyard to your DECK’ cards / combo…

    Some missed opportunities with Clare Wil (she could have given bonuses to allies, or when she’s on board and you use her banner an additional +1 attack…

    And with the ‘queen’s’ cards, maybe a bonus when Anfisa is out…

    I’ll think of some more!

    I think there’s no chance of a story mode, too much programming time, and I suspect if there’s no Set 4 then there’ll be no mroe additional content in that area…

    I also think if you enter a room online or someone enters you, you should be able to not play them (for example I’ve played people online, started a new match and it’s the same person again!) and you should be able to do this without penalty…

    More to come!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Slarth on October 24, 2008 at 3:29 am

    Whats missing? 2 things are:

    1 – Dioskuri Promo card widely available
    2 – Conformation for set 4 would be nice 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Fongy on October 24, 2008 at 4:29 am

    Hi Slarth!
    I’ve responded to my petition request on EOJM – don’t think it’ll go down to well, but I’m usually so positive (check out my comments on all the cards here)
    But this Card 311 business is dragging it down…
    I agree!
    311 to be widely available to enable people to complete their collection and just get on with enjoying the game!
    I wouldn’t do Set 4 – not after all Sony’s blunders / efforts to destroy this game..

    Reply

  4. This is my list:

    1 – Personal music in game
    2 – Live tournament with rankings and ratings like MTG
    3 – Remove from the online ranking who doesn’t play for a lot of time
    4 – Official site for Italian player 😉

    Reply

  5. Posted by drizzle on October 24, 2008 at 9:45 am

    I agree with LaTen about live tournaments and personal in game music. Very nice ideas.

    I’d like to see more games played on special board layouts (like random, chains, custom to element, etc). These options are almost never used since they do not count in ranked. Maybe Sony could throw a tournament out there with a custom board layout.

    More then 8 deck slots.

    Tournaments with actual prize support (Booster boxes, cash, electronics, trips, etc).

    Reply

  6. Posted by Fongy on October 24, 2008 at 10:23 am

    PERSONAL IN-GAME MUSIC!
    YES PLEASE!
    I mean, the heavy rock track is god-damned awful…
    I always have the music off and my ipod docked blasting music out anyway, so it’s not a major – but would bea nice touch.

    MORE DECK SLOTS!
    Yes please!

    ERM…
    CUSTOMISED ONLINE ANIMATIONS!!
    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, that way you only see the groovy animations you want!

    Reply

  7. Posted by DarthMarkus1st on October 24, 2008 at 10:34 am

    for me is the only thing missing:

    more deck-slots

    everything else is fine….okay, a new Intro/Movie had to be great, I love animations

    Reply

  8. Posted by CroydonKev on October 24, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Yeah new movies. Every expansion for new games has new intro movies but not this one!

    More deck slots -Great!!

    and I agree with LaTen on this:
    3 – Remove from the online ranking who doesn’t play for a lot of time.

    Then we would see OneStrong and friends dissapearing and allowing others to get to the top without cheating.

    Reply

  9. I agree, we need more deck slots!
    I already have 8 decks ^^

    I’m not sure abou the Story Mode idea, i dont think its possible to make a good story mode for EoJ, its just not the kind of game for something like that.

    Overall the game has become even better with Set3, and I’m happy with the game as it is right now.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Real Gambler on October 25, 2008 at 7:28 am

    I think having only 8 deck slots is now one of the worst part about EoJ. I had to delete all my old set 1 decks and will have to delete my set 2 decks pretty soon. It’s a 30 cards lists! Doesn’t take any space at all. They could likely have 100 slots in pretty much the same amount of space it takes for 8. Would be nice to even be able to keep variation of our decks as in:

    Earth deck 1.0, 1.1, 1.2, 1.3 etc…

    Reply

  11. Posted by Slarth on October 25, 2008 at 8:35 am

    I think that’s the one thing that is needed ASAP 8 slots just isn’t enough.

    Reply

  12. Posted by WARBEAR on November 2, 2008 at 4:32 am

    The deck slots issue is so simple for the makers to resolve. It’s a real pain as i keep my deck’s in a constructed state (save for the UR) and i will shortly have 10 or more decks prepared and not the space for them on the system.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

