Why delay? What’s the future of EOJ?

Summary: Secondary to the recent announcement from Upper Deck that the North American Set.3 shipment has been delayed to mid-December, EOJ community has appeared to became increasingly anxious, in particular, with the future of Eye Of Judgment.  As many big EOJ Official Community Site has done this already, I have tried this myself as well and here is the response from SCEA Marketing Manager, Chuck.

We totally appreciate your note and have appreciated the amazing support you have given the game.  The news of the delay was very disappointing to us as well as we knew how the players would feel.  Sadly, the card portion of the game is in the hands of Upper Deck and there is not much we can do.  They should be making an official announcement on that soon which we will share with the rest of the community.  In terms of the future of EOJ, we will be operating with the assumption that EOJ will be continuing until Japan tells us otherwise.   

– Chuck  

 

No blame goes to Chuck as he responded this within 12 hours of my original EMail.  This is pretty much as I have anticipated, but at this point we really don’t know the reason why the shipment has been delayed nor the future of EOJ.  I was told that other bigger EOJ sites has also been attempting to get these information.

If all fails, I might even consider writing to Sony Japan, the EOJ pubilisher; however, at this time I do not have any direct contact with them.  Most likely I wll have reply with professionally written letter saying “What’s going on in NA is out of our control.  At this time, we are not able to tell anything about EOJ fututure.”

Disappointing, but I really believe with Set.3 this game has truly became a great TCG.  So I hope we all keep our hopes together and continue playing this game despite another 1 month delay.  This is not because to support Sony, but just to entertain yourself with this great game.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Roark-L on November 11, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Well, thats pretty much the same response all the communities got as well … so im guessing chuck and mark have no info at all …

    Sad that the community that has literally carried eoj is now so helpless to get information ….

    Reply

  2. Posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    When i first heard about the delay I was very upset. I’m tired of North America getting the short end of the stick. So I cancelled my order with the North American distributor is was using for my booster boxes, and I order my booster boxes from Europe. I didn’t do this originally because their was a substantial price difference, but the price since then has gone down and now their is only a small difference in price so I decide to order with them. I order the boxes online on Sunday and my order was shipped out yesterday. I should have my boxes by mid-week. If anyboday else is interested in ordering from Europe I ordered my boxes from http://www.the13thfloor.co.uk, I’ve ordered from them before and their shipments to the US arrive quickly. It is a price difference. It’s alittle more expensive to order from Europe, but I’m willing to pay alittle extra so that this tremendous screw up doesn’t effect me. I hope that this delay doesn’t discourage gamers to the point that they want to leave the community, cause I really do enjoy this game. I personally would like to see it grow cause I feel this game does how enormous potential.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Real Gambler on November 11, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Dear anonymous,

    The problem with ordering overseas, is the fact that if everybody does that, then, if there’s ever a set 4, they won’t even bother ship any cards at all in N.A. since they won’t sell any set 3 cards (everybody will already have bought their cards by the time they show up). They will see more cards being sold in Europe, so sure enough, they will think the market is bigger there, and they will forget about N.A. again. So by buying overseas, you’re not really helping the N.A. sales and support.

    Reply

  4. Posted by sand command on November 11, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    ehh they screwed up big time.

    however… they will ship cards to NA no matter what. its the biggest single market in the world for pretty much everything…. and with all the whining about how NA keeps getting screwed you would think they would get their act together.

    they are only losing money by not providing NA with same worldwide release.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    2 words – credit crisis :X

    Reply

  6. Posted by Anoni on November 12, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Hey guys, i cancelled my pre-order of of set 3 and just printed them out straight from the internet, LOL, it works

    Reply

Leave a Reply

